And thanks for all the fish

hg2g.png

I read the “Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy” series several years ago. For brevity’s sake, I will use the popular “HG2G” when referring to the series. I have to say reading this book was quite different than many books that I have enjoyed in the past. They certainly had a Sci-Fi bent to them that I found appealing but as a whole, I would say that story was more comedic than anything else. Don’t get me wrong, I am not saying this is a bad thing. In fact, it was very enjoyable. I found the author, Douglas Adams, to have a great way of conveying humor to the pages. The story line always kept me wanting to read more. The series will always have a special place on my book shelf.

Interestingly, HG2G started its life as a rather surprising media type. It started as a show on BBC radio. How fascinating is it that this series went from radio, to book, to being a movie. Truth be told, HG2G has been a cornucopia of media variety. There has been stage productions, LP records, comic books, and audiobooks. I have been told by others that it also was a text-based computer game in the past, but I have not been able to locate it anywhere. The general plot of the series follows a character named Arthur Dent. Arthur witnesses the destruction of the planet Earth by a bureaucratic alien race making room for an intergalactic highway. Arthur is saved however by an alien who was living on Earth at the time named Ford Prefect (yes like a Ford car). Ford is a writer for The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy.  The story follows Arthur through many funny adventures, mishaps, and amusing gadgets such as peril sensitive glasses that go black at the first sign of danger.

I was surprised that there was a movie really. I did not think the comedy would transfer well. My expectations were met without fail. What was funny, witty, and even endearing in the books came across as a bit over the top in the movie. I was sorely disappointed. How could a book that was so good turn into a movie that was so bad.  I feel that if someone was not already familiar with the series, they would really not understand what was going on. It did not fare especially well at the box office, as it grossed just over $51 million in U.S. markets. One plus, I did find the soundtrack to be pretty enjoyable.

http://www.boxofficemojo.com/movies/?id=hitchhikersguide.htm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VoZ_eupjzYg&list=PLX1gr6d3ZjxwxMpdO11DLa51bXzDWjkXU

Leave a Reply

